BIG ISSUE NATIONAL VENDOR WEEK
LEARN MORE
Books

Lost on Me by Veronica Raimo review: Family dynamics beg closer inspection

Italian author Veronica Raimo's Lost on Me stylishly evokes teenage years in a dysfunctional family

Lost on Me by Veronica Raimo,

Lost on Me by Veronica Raimo, translated by Leah Janeczko is out now (Little, Brown, £16.99)

If you search for Veronica Raimo’s latest novel, Lost on Me, on a certain online marketplace it’ll tell you it is a “100,000-copy Italian bestseller for fans of Rachel Cusk and Deborah Levy”. Honestly, what did British publishing do before Cusk and Levy came along?

Raimo’s novel, which is excellent and comes to anglophone readers through a suitably stylish translation by Leah Janeczko, isn’t really similar to Cusk or Levy at all. Instead, reading it I found myself thinking of the Ferrara novels of Giorgio Bassani, works that dramatised his younger years in 1920s and 30s Italy. 

The novel is told by an older Veronica (or Vero, or Verika, or Veronika, depending on whose company she is in) as she looks back over her early life and teen years with a family as comical as it is dysfunctional.

Her mother (who I feel would be fast friends with Hen, the matriarchal figure from Gwendoline Riley’s My Phantoms) is a worrisome busybody, overly protective of her adult son and wholly indifferent to her daughter.

Vero’s father is an obsessive who has a penchant for building walls throughout the family home, bisecting rooms willy-nilly and lowering ceilings to create crawl spaces. But don’t worry, despite what this sounds like, the novel is never quirky. It is a wholly realist work, Vero’s voice providing a sometimes-detached narration that you feel was written with a cigarette in hand. 

If the novel has any flaws, it’s that it is being released in the UK, headfirst into a saturated market of similar works. As a novel written in a spare and precise style from the pen of a biting narrator, there stands the very great fear that it may fall prey to the type of critical voices who use terms like “whip smart” to describe, and relegate, these works to a sludge pile of Rooneyites. I have hope that Raimo will win through. It would be simply impossible for a book this good to go unnoticed.  

Barry Pierce is a journalist and cultural commentator

Lost on Me

Lost on Me by Veronica Raimo, translated by Leah Janeczko is out now (Little, Brown, £16.99). You can buy it from The Big Issue shop on Bookshop.org, which helps to support The Big Issue and independent bookshops.

This article is taken from The Big Issue magazine, which exists to give homeless, long-term unemployed and marginalised people the opportunity to earn an income.To support our work buy a copy!

If you cannot reach your local vendor, you can still click HERE to subscribe to The Big Issue today or give a gift subscription to a friend or family member. You can also purchase one-off issues from The Big Issue Shop or The Big Issue app, available now from the App Store or Google Play.

Get the latest news and insight into how the Big Issue magazine is made by signing up for the Inside Big Issue newsletter

National Vendor Week 2024

A celebration of people who are working their way out of poverty.
Vendor martin Hawes

Recommended for you

View all
Family Politics by John O'Farrell review – a plea to engage with those whose views we abhor
Books

Family Politics by John O'Farrell review – a plea to engage with those whose views we abhor

Top 5 books with magical creatures, chosen by best-selling author Alex Bell
Books

Top 5 books with magical creatures, chosen by best-selling author Alex Bell

Mrs Gulliver by Valerie Martin review – finding agency in a patriarchy
Books

Mrs Gulliver by Valerie Martin review – finding agency in a patriarchy

Freaks Out! by Luke Haines review – a righteous celebration of gloriously weird rock 'n' rollers
Books

Freaks Out! by Luke Haines review – a righteous celebration of gloriously weird rock 'n' rollers

Most Popular

Read All
Renters pay their landlords' buy-to-let mortgages, so they should get a share of the profits
Renters: A mortgage lender's window advertising buy-to-let products
1.

Renters pay their landlords' buy-to-let mortgages, so they should get a share of the profits

Exclusive: Disabled people are 'set up to fail' by the DWP in target-driven disability benefits system, whistleblowers reveal
Pound coins on a piece of paper with disability living allowancve
2.

Exclusive: Disabled people are 'set up to fail' by the DWP in target-driven disability benefits system, whistleblowers reveal

Here's when UK households to start receiving last cost of living payments
next dwp cost of living payment 2023
3.

Here's when UK households to start receiving last cost of living payments

Strike dates 2023: From train drivers to NHS doctors, here are the dates to know
4.

Strike dates 2023: From train drivers to NHS doctors, here are the dates to know